Unknown Mortal Orchestra – S/T (2011) 7.2

Genre: Lo-Fi, Psychedelic
Rating: 7.2

Track List:
1. “Ffunny Ffrends” 4:17
2. “Bicycle” 4:45
3. “Thought Ballune” 4:10
4. “Jello and Juggernauts” 3:24
5. “How Can You Luv Me” 3:28
6. “Nerve Damage!” 2:15
7. “Little Blu House” 3:01
8. “Strangers Are Strange” 2:24
9. “Boy Witch” 2:25

After leaving The Mint Chicks, Ruban Nielson, created ‘Ffunny Ffriends’ and released it anonymously on Bandcamp. After a fury of independent press coverage, Ruban claimed it as his own under the moniker Unknown Mortal Orchestra and created this debut album with a single microphone in his basement. He has the following to say about the process: “I was just trying to make it sound like all of the records I was listening to. I wanted it to sound like it was from an old archive or an unreleased album.” That is what it sounds like. Favourite track: “Jello and Juggernauts”.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s