Led Zeppelin – Led Zeppelin (1969) 10

Genre: Blues Rock
Rating: 10

Track List:
1. “Good Times Bad Times” 2:46
2. “Babe I’m Gonna Leave You” 6:42
3. “You Shook Me” 6:28
4. “Dazed and Confused” 6:28
5. “Your Time Is Gonna Come” 4:34
6. “Black Mountain Side” (instrumental) 2:12
7. “Communication Breakdown” 2:30
8. “I Can’t Quit You Baby” Dixon 4:42
9. “How Many More Times” 8:27

Yeah, I guess it’s a pretty okay album. Led Zeppelin’s debut was a watershed moment for hard rock and for sometime it remained the gold standard to which all hard rock would be measured against. It was a mix of original music and re-worked folk and blues covers. They later went back and credited some of these artists following law suits. Whether this was colonial plagiarism or simply continuing in the long standing blues and folk traditions of building on other’s songs may forever remain the controversy that surrounds this album.

Here is a list of the original songs:
1. Joan Baez – “Babe I’m Gonna Leave You
2. Muddy Waters – “You Shook Me
3. Jake Holmes – “Dazed and Confused
4. Bert Jansch – “Black Waterside
5. Otis Rush – “I Can’t Quit You Baby
6. Howlin’ Wolf – “How Many More Years” & Albert King – “The Hunter

Favourite Tracks: “Good Times Bad Times”, “Babe I’m Gonna Leave You” & “Dazed and Confused”

Support music.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s