The Psychedelic Sounds of The 13th Floor Elevators (1966) 7.7

Genre: Psychedelic Rock
Rating: 7.7

Track List:
1. “You’re Gonna Miss Me” 2:24
2. “Roller Coaster” 5:00
3. “Splash 1 (Now I’m Home)” 3:50
4. “Reverberation” 2:46
5. “Don’t Fall Down” 3:00
6. “Fire Engine” 3:22
7. “Thru the Rhythm” 3:05
8. “You Don’t Know” 2:38
9. “Kingdom of Heaven” 3:05
10. “Monkey Island” 2:38
11. “Tried to Hide” 2:46

Fuzzy garage rock, eerie psychedelia and outer space blues from the 1960’s Texas underground. This is rumoured to  be the first use of the word psychedelic in the title of an album describing the songs within. The liner notes promotion of LSD have added to the cult status of this sought after album. What it lacks in production quality it makes up for in raw primitivism and a gutsy defiance of the powerful Texas anti-drug squares.

Favourite Tracks: ‘You’re Gonna Miss Me’, ‘Reverberation’ & ‘Kingdom of Heaven’

Support music.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s