Jay-Z – The Blueprint (2001) 6.5

Genre: Hip Hop
Rating: 6.5

Track List:
1. The Ruler’s Back 3:50
2. Takeover 5:13
3. Izzo (H.O.V.A.) 4:00
4. Girls, Girls, Girls 4:35
5. Jigga That Nigga 3:24
6. U Don’t Know 3:19
7. Hola’ Hovito 4:33
8. Heart of the City (Ain’t No Love) 3:43
9. Never Change 3:59
10. Song Cry 5:04
11. All I Need 4:27
12. Renegade 5:38
13. Blueprint (Momma Loves Me) 3:41

Released on 9/11, The Blueprint is probably Jay-Z’s most popular album. It’s got some really soulful production by Kanye West, Blaze, Blink and others who utilize some unique samples. While containing some classic jams like, Takeover, Izzo, Girls & Heart of the City, the album as a whole just doesn’t seem to hold up in 2018. A classic of it’s time.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s