A Tribe Called Red – We Are the Halluci Nation (2016) 8.8

Genre: Electronic
Rating: 8.8

Track List:
1. “We Are the Halluci Nation” (featuring John Trudell & Northern Voice) 2:44
2. “R.E.D.” (featuring Yasiin Bey, Narcy & Black Bear) 3:29
3. “The Virus” (featuring Saul Williams & Chippewa Travellers) 3:50
4. “Before” (featuring Joseph Boyden) 1:50
5. “Sila” (featuring Tanya Tagaq) 3:08
6. “The Light” (featuring Lido Pimienta) 4:11
7. “Maima Koopi” (featuring Oka & Chippewa Travellers) 4:14
8. “JHD” (featuring Junior Ottawa) 3:38
9. “Eanan” (featuring Maxida Märak) 2:41
10. “The Muse” (featuring Jennifer Kreisberg) 4:37
11. “Indian City” (featuring Black Bear) 3:37
12. “How I Feel” (featuring Leonard Sumner, Shad & Northern Voice) 4:21
13. “For You (The Light, Pt. 2)” (featuring Lido Pimienta) 3:43
14. “Alie Nation” (featuring John Trudell, Lido Pimienta & Tanya Tagaq) 2:03
15. “Soon” (featuring Joseph Boyden) 2:02


Something magical happens when younger musicians play homage and respect to traditional music. A Tribe Called Red are masters at seamlessly fusing young and old styles; traditional chanting, drum and throat singing flawlessly fades in an out of electronic and hip hop and many other genres. On top of all of this are the stories and poems by John Trudell and Joseph Boyden.

A Tribe Called Red was inspired to create a concept album featuring the stories of Aboriginal voices, addressing the impact of colonization on indigenous people in the modern world. Among these voices was the story of Chanie Wenjack, an Ojibwe (Anishinaabe) First Nations boy who attempted to escape his residential school and died of hunger and exposure. Canadian music fans will most likely remember the story of Wenjack from Gord Downie’s Secret Path album and television special on CBC.

A tribe called Red said they were attempting to create an album that promotes “inclusivity, empathy and acceptance amongst all races and genders in the name of social justice. They believe that Indigenous people need to define their identity on their own terms”. The overall effect of this album reflects this aim perfectly. Indigenous music is highlighted front and center and is blended with a wide variety of genres and musicians of many races and genders. To me, this says that indigenous music and stories are not to be forgotten and neglected; instead to be shared with all who will listen.

Shad expresses this perfectly on “How I Feel” rapping “And it’s hard to listen- but listen / Cause it’s much harder living it than listening to the hardships”.

Enjoy and support here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s