Stan Rogers – Fogarty’s Cove (1977) 7.9

Genre: Folk
Rating: 7.9

Track List:
1. “Watching the Apples Grow” 1:51
2. “Forty-Five Years” 3:32
3. “Fogarty’s Cove” 2:14
4. “Maid on the Shore” 3:44
5. “Barrett’s Privateers” 4:18 (watch the live version here)
6. “Fisherman’s Wharf” 4:01
7. “Giant” 3:35
8. “Rawdon Hills” 3:28
9. “Plenty of Hornpipe” 1:55
10. “The Wreck of the Athens Queen” 3:01
11. “Make and Break Harbour” 4:27
12. “Finch’s Complaint/Giant” (reprise) 3:07

This is the music that I remember waking up to on a late weekend mornings. I’d be drawn into the living room to the smell of coffee and the sounds of my father playing Stan Rogers and other of his folk contemporaries. It’s become a comforting and soothing sound to me over many years; nostalgic like a warm hug.

Beloved Canadian folk poet, Stan Rogers, cuts his teeth on his first album, Fogarty’s Cove, in 1977. Writing new classics with ancient tradition, his rich earthy voice set the ground for the wonder and mysticism of his maritime tales to take root. His songs have stood the test of time; as grounded as a weather beaten lighthouse beckoning sea sick sailors back home to the safety of their worried families.

Favourite tracks: The bawdy stomper classic “Barret’s Privateers”, the enchanting rowdy drinking song “Giant” and the love ballad “Forty-five Years”.

Listen and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s