Mr. Bungle – The Raging Wrath of the Easter Bunny Demo (2020) 10.2

Genre: Thrash Metal
Rating: 10.2

Track List:
1. Grizzly Adams 02:55
2. Anarchy Up Your Anus 02:15
3. Raping Your Mind 05:53
4. Hypocrites / Habla Español O Muere 03:43
5. Bungle Grind 06:30
6. Methematics 08:45
7. Eracist 03:52
8. Spreading The Thighs of Death 05:59
9. Loss For Words 04:16
10. Glutton For Punishment 04:49
11. Sudden Death 07:30

Mr. Bungle took to the studio to re-record their 1986 debut demo tape with help from Slayer’s Dave Lombardo and Anthrax’s Scott Ian. Not surprisingly considering those additions to the band, the result is gloriously thrashy. In fact, I don’t think a thrash album of this caliber has ever been recorded so well. Musically, it fits right in with the thrash class cool kids of 1986, possibly the genre’s heyday. I have no doubt that had this album been recorded properly in 1986 it would be enjoying a seat next to the likes of Reign In Blood.

The classic albums from that golden era are classic for a reason. They don’t need to messed with. I certainly don’t advocate for a re-recording of, for example Ride The Lightning. And yet, they were all recorded in the mid 80’s and early 90’s and only sound as good as the Easter Bunny Demo in our nostalgia altered memories.

If you are looking to revisit your thrash days with something new. You should certainly look into Mr. Bungles newest and also oldest release, The Raging Wrath of the Easter Bunny Demo.

Favourite Tracks: ‘Methamatics’, ‘Eracist’ & ‘Raping Your Mind’

Support and sample here.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s