The Flaming Lips – Lightning Strikes the Postman (2016) 7.6

Genre: Rock, Instrumental
Rating: 7.6

Track List:
1. The Abandoned Hospital Ship 6:07
2. Psychiatric Explorations Of The Fetus With Needles 4:09
3. Placebo Headwound 4:07
4. This Here Giraffe 3:48
5. Brainville 3:48
6. Guy Who Got A Headache And Accidentally Saves The World 4:43
7. When You Smile 3:25
8. Kim’s Watermelon Gun 3:42
9. They Punctured My Yolk 5:11
10. Lightning Strikes The Postman 3:32
11. Christmas At The Zoo 3:15
12. Evil Will Prevail 4:21
13. Bad Days 4:39

Released for record store day 2016. It’s described as an alternate mix of 1995’s ‘Clouds Taste Metallic’. The guitar tracks are turned way up and the rest is turned way down and vocals have been removed. The overall effect sounds electric like lightning striking in the calm of a storm. The guitar crunches, buzzes and squeals delightfully along each track often contrasting the calm tropical sound of pedal-steel guitar. This is a hard to find release and certainly worth the listen if you are looking to get into a pretty weird head space. Favourite song: Brainville. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s