Beth Hart & Joe Bonamassa – Black Coffee (2018) 7

Genre: Blues & Soul
Rating: 7

Track List
1. “Give It Everything You Got” 4:38
2. “Damn Your Eyes” 4:34
3. “Black Coffee” 4:16
4. “Lullaby of the Leaves” 5:44
5. “Why Don’t You Do Right” 4:35
6. “Saved” 3:51
7. “Sitting on Top of the World” 3:58
8. “Joy” 4:23
9. “Soul on Fire” 5:02
10. “Addicted” 3:40

This is the third cover album by vocalist Beth Hart and guitarist Joe Bonamassa. The highlights here include a howling cover of Tina & Ike Turner’s ‘Black Coffee’, a blue collar truck stop rocker that’s hard to ignore and the jazz standard, ‘Lullaby of the Leaves’ that finds the duo switching gears for a smoky late night rendition of the classic that casually escalates to a powerfully climactic guitar solo. Other highlights include the jazzy ‘Why Don’t You Do Right’ and the dance floor draw ‘Saved’.

Fun album. Check it out wherever you listen to music.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s