Nina Simone – I Put A Spell On You (1965) 7.9

Genre: Vocal Jazz
Rating: 7.

Track List:
1. I Put a Spell on You 2:34
2. Tomorrow Is My Turn 2:48
3. Ne me quitte pas 3:34
4. Marriage Is for Old Folks 3:29
5. July Tree 2:41
6. Gimme Some 2:57
7. Feeling Good 2:53
8. One September Day 2:48
9. Blues on Purpose 3:16
10. Beautiful Land 1:54
11. You’ve Got to Learn 2:41
12. Take Care of Business 2:03

Jazzy, dramatic, big band arrangements set the stage for the Queen of Soul to lay down some of her most commercially successful songs of her illustrious career. Her vocal talents are on full display, taking on a curated collection of songs in a variety of styles. The highlights on this album carry the weight of some of the more obscure song choices and still even with these selections the Queen shines.

Favourite Tracks: ‘Feeling Good’, ‘I Put A Spell On You’ & ‘Gimme Some’

Support music.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s